Uttar Pradesh Election 2024: Samajwadi Party’s Comeback & INDIA Bloc’s Lead Surges Past NDA

In a notable shift from their performance in the previous election, where they secured only five seats in collaboration with the BSP, Akhilesh Yadav’s party in Uttar Pradesh has dealt a significant blow to the BJP. This is particularly noteworthy as the BJP had independently won an impressive 62 seats in the 2019 election. The resurgence of the Samajwadi Party signals a shifting political landscape in Uttar Pradesh, with implications for future electoral dynamics and governance in the state.

According to the Election Commission’s data on polls conducted across the 80 parliamentary constituencies in Uttar Pradesh, the Samajwadi Party, and Congress alliance within the INDIA bloc is currently ahead in 34 seats and 7 seats respectively. Meanwhile, the BJP-led NDA is leading in 35 seats, setting the stage for a closely contested electoral battle in the state.

“Election Update: BJP Surges, Prominent Leaders Lead

In the latest updates from the Uttar Pradesh parliamentary election, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has surged ahead in 35 seats, bolstered by the performance of its allies Rashtriya Lok Dal and Apna Dal, each leading in one seat. However, amidst these developments, a notable contest unfolds as Chandrashekhar of the Azad Samaj Party (Kanshiram) takes a commanding lead of 1,09,799 votes over BJP’s Om Kumar in a closely watched electoral battle. Stay tuned for more insights and updates as the election progresses.

Uttar Pradesh Election

Several prominent leaders have secured comfortable leads over their opponents in the ongoing Uttar Pradesh election. Notably, Prime Minister Narendra Modi is ahead in Varanasi, while Defence Minister Rajnath Singh maintains a strong lead in Lucknow. In Kannauj and Mainpuri, Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav and his wife Dimple Yadav are also leading comfortably. Additionally, Congress candidates Rahul Gandhi and Kishori Lal Sharma are ahead in Rae Bareli and Amethi, respectively, indicating significant developments across key constituencies in the state.

SP’s blow to BJP

A significant shift has occurred in Uttar Pradesh’s political landscape, with Akhilesh Yadav’s party making a remarkable comeback after securing just five seats in the previous election in alliance with the BSP. This resurgence has dealt a significant blow to the BJP, which independently clinched 62 seats in 2019.

Mr. Yadav spearheaded the opposition’s campaign in this crucial state, leading from the forefront. His strategic collaboration with Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress and Arvind Kejriwal’s outfit added further momentum to the opposition’s efforts, indicating a formidable challenge to the ruling party’s dominance.

The 2024 general election marked a significant milestone for the Samajwadi Party, being the first without its patriarch, Mulayam Singh Yadav, whose leadership was deeply entrenched in its history. However, under Akhilesh Yadav’s stewardship, the party not only lived up to expectations but exceeded them, securing more seats than it had in the 2004 election.

Throughout the campaign, Akhilesh Yadav faced disparaging remarks from Prime Minister Modi, who often referred to him and Rahul Gandhi as the “Do ladko ki jodi” (the duo of two boys). Despite this, Akhilesh remained undeterred, focusing on mobilizing support for his wife Dimple Yadav and three cousins, all of whom were contesting from various constituencies, including the prestigious Kannauj Lok Sabha seat.

Nepotism Rebuttal: Akhilesh Yadav’s Strategic Maneuver

One of the defining moments of the campaign was when Akhilesh Yadav skillfully countered the BJP’s accusations of nepotism. His response, asserting that those without a family had no right to criticize others, not only forced the BJP to recalibrate its narrative but also prompted widespread adoption of “Modi ka Parivaar” (Modi’s family) tags among BJP leaders and supporters on social media.

The Samajwadi Party’s strategic alliances also played a crucial role in its electoral strategy. Allocating 18 seats to the Congress and one to the Trinamool Congress, while fielding its own candidates in the remaining constituencies, demonstrated Akhilesh Yadav’s adeptness in coalition-building and his commitment to forging strong alliances to challenge the ruling party’s dominance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.